SHIMLA AT YOUR LEISURE – DISCOVER SHIMLA AND SURROUNDINGS
Shimla lies in Shivalik hills of lofty Himalayas, which have risen from the bed of prehistoric ocean Tethys, it originated as ‘Shumlah’, a small hamlet (extending from below St. Michael’s Cathedral to Ripon Hospital), drawing water from natural mountain spring, now called “Ram Mandir Ki Baoli’.
Shimla was discovered in early nineteenth century by Gerard brothers. It grew out of the turmoils of Gurkha Wars to become the summer capital of British India, described as ‘wonder town’. So famous it became, that a steamship company named its liner ‘The City of Shimla’. Now capital of Himachal Pradesh, it is India’s largest hill town engulfed in charm, romance and grandeur. Shimla beckons you……….. to loose oneself in its lore and legend, whispering pines, mists and mountains, snowy peaks, myriad shades of pahari culture…………
Situated on the Ridge, built in 1857, second oldest church of north India. It has a very majestic appearance and inside there are original chancel windows, designed by Lockwood Kipling, Rudyard Kipling’s father. Stained glass windows.
The Mall is the main shopping centre of Shimla and has clubs, theatres, restaurants and bars. From The Mall, one can also explore the Tibetan Market, the Lower Bazaar and Ram Bazaar. A passenger lift can be taken from the Cart Road to The Mall.
Adjacent to the Ridge Shimla , famous for wooden handicrafts and souvenirs.
This large open space in the heart of Shimla presents excellent view of snowy mountain ranges.
Himachal State Museum
The museum has a grand collection of ancient historical sculptures, coins, paintings and photographs collected from all over the state and the country. It also houses a library which has around 10,000 books, journals and magazines. Art and history lovers must visit the museum while touring Shimla.
Built in 1845. Dedicated to Kali Mata. Believed that an ancient temple of Shamla (blue female) i.e. Kali Devi existed near Rothney Castle on Jakhu. Wooden image worshipped locally. During early British days, it was removed to a wooden structure, present Kali Bari.